asked 2012-06-09 16:24:52 -0500alexandros.z
What will happen if a user wants to delete his account?
I assume that he should send an email to the admin? But still, deleting the account should not imply that all his questions/answers also to be deleted since this is not helpful for the community.
So, what should be the solution? I see that through django console, you can delete users from the database, but all his questions/answers also are deleted.
Do you have any good ideas what should be the proper way?
answered 2012-06-09 19:48:18 -0500zaf
If we want to keep all the content of a user but not the user himself (which is a very good choice since his content might be valueable), I think an easy way is to just go to admin panel and change/delete few things about him, but not the actual user:
yoursite.com/admin/django_authopenid/userassociation/- delete everything that refers to this user.
This way you have pseudo-deleted him but the record in database is still there, all his content is there and he is not related to all these any more.
I like the way StackExchange does this, actually. When a user is deleted, her posts remain and are attributed to her username, but her username only appears as plain text (not a hyperlink), and her profile can no longer be accessed (even if you know the URL).
I notice that for all the different statuses that Askbot has for user accounts, there is no "hidden" or "deleted" status.
Create your Q&A site at askbot.com. Managed Askbot hosting at just $15/mo. Dedicated hosting, support contracts, consulting services.create your Q&A site
Asked: 2012-06-09 16:24:52 -0500
Seen: 143 times
Last updated: Jul 28 '12